- Can I eat more fruit than I thought?
- Should I stick to almond flour?
- Can I add quinoa and brown rice to my diet?
- Is cheese really that bad?
- What about soy?
I participated in the 30-Day Paleo Challenge last year. I ate strictly Paleo and did not cheat at all! But I missed drinking a glass of vino here and there. We'll see how I handle that this time around. I love wine and champagne, but I also know the carbs have a huge, negative effect on me.
So, as I mentioned in my About Me section, I decided not to post my "before" picture. I feel good most days- strong, energetive, healthy! But I just don't want a half-naked picture on here to remind me of my many flaws. I'm not satisfied with how I look right now, and the pictures completely freaked me out. I'm entirely too body-conscious and insecure. I'm not ready to share that with the entire CFM community. Maybe this summer, I'll be ready to post a bikini pic lol
One of my major issues is my stomach. I have this little pooch that won't go away. It's like being 4 weeks pregnant all the time lol I never wear tight shirts or tank tops just because I'm entirely too self-conscious about it. I want to wear sexy, skin-tight shirts one day! Hopefully, I can figure out what I need to do differently to have a flatter stomach. Sit-ups every day?? No wine?? Ugh.
I started a new job recently where I have to attend a lot of business meetings, so I need to step up my work wardrobe. I hate trying clothes on though. It's a chore! And unless I'm at Victoria's Secret, where they have those optical-illusion mirrors that make you look 10 pounds lighter, looking at myself that closely makes me feel terrible. Nothing ever seems to fit right.
Since I started CrossFit, I've lost 2-3 dress sizes, so I don't have much room to complain. I'm a size 6 now. I'm okay with that number... (the fact that I'm even sharing that confidential info is confirmation of that). So yesterday, I tried clothes on for the first time in a looooong time... it wasn't as terrible as I thought it would be. I guess for right now, I'll try to enjoy where I am.
I have no idea how much I weigh... I avoid the scale. If I had to guess, it's probably around 140-145 lbs, which sucks. I feel like I've been stuck in that range for awhile - the dreaded plateau. Ideally, I'd like to be 125 or 130 lbs, but I just don't see it happening... Can I even accomplish that? Should I even be concerned with the number? Next week, I have a doctor's appointment for a physical, so I'm sure I'll have to find out my weight. I'm not looking forward to that at all.
*One year from now, I will feel accomplished, if I am comfortable enough to wear shorts and a tank top in public. I was able to do that on my honeymoon last year but only after I starved myself for two weeks. Sooooo... I'd rather do it the right way - eating healthy, eating enough, and working out.
*I will also feel accomplished if I am confident enough to post my "before" picture alongside my "after" picture without shame.
CrossFit Goals:
- 3 dead hang pull-ups
- 10-15 unbroken kipping pull-ups
- 6-8 unbroken dips
- Effortless double-unders
- 10-15 real, unbroken push-ups
- 1 handstand push-up
- Better, lower pistols
Great first post Morgan! We have a lot of the same body issue problems it looks like; it took a lot for me to agree to put my pictures up and I'm still not positive about doing it...
ReplyDeleteAs for your weight, definitely dont look at the number. It'll just drive you crazy! Sometimes the way fat and muscle works is that you can weigh more but look smaller just because muscle does weigh more than fat...and reading your WOD posts, you are one strong chick! So keep up the good work :-)