5.07.2012

Zombies

I am due for an update...

First off, the Run for Your Lives 5k that advertises itself as a zombie-infested race... is a load of bullshit. The hype surrounding this "race" convinced me to purchase an $80 ticket, and I regret wasting my entire Saturday on it. I had wonderful company for the 6-hour round trip to Massachusetts, thanks to Sam Rajachack! But the actual race itself did not satisfy my zombie-fanaticism or my running enthusiasm. I'll bypass my complaints about the mile-long lines to the bathrooms, the shuttles (aka school buses), the registration tables, and the drop-off area. That's to be expected I guess.

Fast forward to the 1:30 wave... the race started with a steep incline caked with mud and rocks. Everyone slipped and fell. Even for a CrossFitter, the initial hill felt like hell. But at least it felt like a workout! Then a few zombies scattered here and there darted after me. It was fun for a good .25 miles. Lots of running from zombies. I had to be quick and agile, zig-zagging in and out of them.

Then we approached the woods, and for a good 1.5 miles, we had to wade through ankle deep mud. No one ran. We fucking walked. So disappointing :( A 5k that would normally take me 24 minutes, took an hour to complete. I slipped in the mud, scraped up my knees on rocks, swam through a river of mud, and barely saw any zombies until mile 2. Then more mud. I couldn't even see my shoes, and each foot weighed an extra 5 lbs. Finally, the end. A few more tired, overworked zombies lazily motioned for me, as I jogged passed them.

Then all the runners waited in a line to slide down the steep hill from the beginning of the race. A giant tarp lay over the rocks and mud. I just thought.. are you fucking kidding me? If I hadn't wanted the whole thing to be over, I would have been scared. We didn't have an option to walk down an alternate route. You had to slide down. I scraped up my hands, and bruised my ass because of the holes in the tarp. It hurt! One of the girls who went with us actually got her hand trapped in a hole and twisted her arm. At the bottom of the slide, I fell into a huge pool of muddy water, and then had to climb under an electric fence to get out. At that point, I was pissed. It was over, and I still had mud everywhere. I shivered in the 40 degree weather. Soooo cold!!! No showers either. I ended up trying to wipe off the mud with a packet of baby wipes.

I wasn't upset because I was drenched, freezing, and filthy. I was upset because I felt gypped.

Great concept for a 5k but extremely poor execution :(

End of rant.



No comments:

Post a Comment